Day 24: Cleaning the Bathroom and Other Symptoms of “Writer-itis”.

Sunday, Nov. 24

Okay, okay, I should be writing, I just need to get my bitchies out. I mean, I’d love to go on here and brag how I’ve already finished NaNoWriMo, but honestly, if it weren’t for blogging about this, I might not even TRY to finish. Because at this point, I’m tired. And I’m running out of words. Creative ideas. Any ideas!

And you know you’ve got a bad case of Writer-itis (okay, fine, I just made that up), when you wake up and start bleaching the shower, scrubbing the sink, and wiping down mirrors. Yes, it was one of those “I will do ANYTHING but write” kind of mornings. And then, while simultaneously bitching and cleaning, I had to eventually reflect on why I was so bitchy (and why all of a sudden I couldn’t stand the crap building up in the shower, or the water spots on the mirror, or the foul egg smell emanating from my sink when I brush my teeth. Yuck.). I mean, it bothers me daily, but TODAY I decided to take action.

And in turn, bitch out everyone who was NOT cleaning, and really, it’s not like I was THAT mad at them, I’m mad at myself. You know when you just don’t feel like you can do it all? So, if there’s Super Woman (who DOES it all), who would be the antithesis of her? Well, me?

Super Woman
Super Woman (Photo credit: anitasarkeesian)

I have to do laundry (folding too!), catch up on my writing, feed my family (and to do this I need to go grocery shopping, if only picking up milk and a bunch of other stuff I won’t cook), prepare for Thanksgiving (which, even though it’s not at my house, I still feel overwhelmed cooking anything and bringing, does that make me super lazy? I usually love to cook, but this year I feel very bleh about it all). I’m not a Grinch, I swear, and I am ALMOST done with the bulk of my Christmas shopping, but I still feel the need to check sales and see what I need to do to finish on time (it’s a race, you know! Oh, you didn’t know? Well it is!).

And then there’s work. Yes, like real work, that pays. It’s GREAT to be able to work from home. NOT so great to feel like you are ALWAYS working. And a baby—no make that a monster (okay, a really cute monster)—who is getting into EVERY kitchen cupboard, pulling every power cord, opening drawers, putting everything in her mouth, finding her (very loud, high-pitched) voice.

This UN-Super Woman is T-I-R-E-D. Pooped.

But alas! There are words to be written. And I’m at the point where I just want to write “All work and no play makes Aimee a dull girl” over and over again until I reach 50,000 words. But, that’s cheating. And like they tell you in school, “You’re only cheating yourself.” Oh shut up (who, me?). Yep, I’m losing it, way off the deep end, yet again.

But here’s the blog post. Next order of business is ACTUALLY writing the novel. And then, after Nov. 30, I can organize the socks, put away said unfolded laundry, and oh yea! Put up the friggin’ Christmas tree (which I usually LOVE) so my monster (you know, the short fat kid who crawls around the house yelling at me and eating crap off the floor that I can’t even see unless I put my glasses on) can pull it down, ornaments and all, and then it will be just ONE more thing for me to clean up. Yay! Merry Happy Holiday, people (or in other words…bah humbug!)!

Bah! Humbug!
Bah! Humbug! (Photo credit: SFU Public Affairs and Media Relations)
Leave a Reply

