Day 19: NaNo Land.

Tuesday, Nov. 19

3,452 words written today! Hooray! While my running total is still below where I should be in my writing progress (21,677), I am happy to have passed the 20,000 word mark and feel confident (okay, that’s a lie, I’m still kind of freaking out!) that I can make it to 30,000 by the end of the week. And then, that 50,000 word finish line!nanowrimo day 19

What’s new in NaNo land? Well, my characters are still talking more than my narrator is describing, but I’m making a conscious effort to put in more details. I’m using my trusty (and fairly blank) notepad to lay out some plot options of where to go next. Dead people are coming back to life (or maybe they weren’t really dead to begin with?), and love triangles continue to tangle and complicate.

A big event is impending (why does this sound so awkward?), and I have some thoughts on what to do to make this event a real disaster (but in a good way). Trying to create a ticking clock leading up to this disaster, but it will inevitably happen by the end of this week, as I near that 30,000 word mark. Besides, what else do I have to write about? I need this disaster. My characters need it. My would-be readers need it.

So, what’s been getting in the way? My character has secrets. But who can she confide in? How does a writer deal with characters with secrets? When is it time to reveal? And who does she tell? How does it progress the plot and affect the status-quo of the world I’ve created? What about all these secondary characters (or would they be tertiary?)? Why mention them if they aren’t important? Do I need to go back to Claire or Logan, or whoever I said was working alongside my main character?

So many questions, but not enough time to overthink things. That’s what revisions (and revisions and revisions) are for, right?

As much as I’d like to know where exactly I’m going and what each scene means to the overall story, I am trying super duper (duper) hard to just write. Don’t think, just write (that’s me talking to myself, err writing to myself). Is that strategy good? I don’t know, but it’s a matter of survival at this point. If I think too much, I will (most certainly) never finish this @#$%ing challenge! But then, how good is a novel going to be when the author doesn’t think enough about it’s characters’ consequences and is rushed to finish? (Although it also could be argued that how good is any first draft whether written in a month or a year or years?)

But for now, I will relish in the victory of passing the 20,000 word mark, of not giving up, and making time to keep writing. In celebration I will go pick up some fried chicken and mashed potatoes for dinner, because in November (okay, and every other month) this writer/mom/wife must choose to either write or cook, and since I’m writing right now, cooking is off the table tonight.

Update: This writer is so exhausted (thank you decaf coffee at Starbucks, and yes this was intentional because caffeine makes me crazy), that when I pulled into said Fried Chicken drive-thru, I was amazed and perplexed at why this Fried Chicken “restaurant” started serving a whole menu of hamburgers. Whhhaaat??? Yea. That’s right. I drove through Dairy Queen by accident. Fortunately, no one was behind me in the drive-thru (because, seriously, do people really eat dinner at Dairy Queen?) so I could (carefully, as in <1 mph) back up and go to the correct drive-thru.

Leave a Reply

