Day 7: Failure!

Thursday, Nov. 7Nanowrimo day 7

How am I supposed to get any writing done with a baby screaming her head off in the background because I don’t want her near the stove as I cook dinner (yes cooking dinner while writing while baby-wrangling, that’s multi-tasking). And I can’t help but feel like I just want to go take a nice long shower. I need a shower. But, with kids, there’s seriously not even enough time for that. And so showers become luxuries when you’re a mom, and apparently writing becomes futile.

It’s days, weeks, like this that make me question many things. What was I thinking trying to write a novel in a month? Maybe I should just give up, I have a baby, that’s my excuse. What was I thinking having another baby when I couldn’t possibly get everything done before she came? Do I really have to sacrifice so much of myself to be a good mom? When will I ever get to sit down and just write? Why is the timer going off? Oh yea, dinner. There goes my “free” time (insert frowny face, no let’s make this a crying emoji).

2 thoughts on “Day 7: Failure!

  1. I’m not a mother yet and I can’t imagine how hard it is to be a mom and be yourself at the same time, but I’m sure you’re doing a great job at both! I think NaNo is a struggle even when you have zero dependents, zero roommates, and zero friends. Just keep writing, even if it’s only a few sentences a day!

    1. Thanks Ashlee! It is such a struggle, but one I take on happily (and some days with wine and tears). Really, the kids inspire me so much to be a good example, and to do that I have to show them that you have to follow your dreams and work hard. I’d be such a hypocrite if I just gave up what I enjoy because it’s difficult! Thanks for the read and the encouragement! And yes, even a few sentences a day is better than nothin’! 🙂

Leave a Reply

