Preparing for NaNoWriMo (Nano-what?)

Thursday, Oct. 31NaNoWriMo2013

Tomorrow marks the official start of NaNoWriMo…come on, you know what I’m talking about, right? National Novel Writing Month! This will be my second year participating in this challenge. And how am I preparing, you might ask? Even if you don’t ask I’m going to tell you. And if you look carefully at the date of this entry, you will notice that I am not at all procrastinating (wink, wink).

However, you might be impressed to know that I am anxiously awaiting my new MacBook Air that is currently in Tennessee (after traveling all the way from Shanghai, China) and due to arrive at my little So Cal doorstep tomorrow! Just in time to start  my newest endeavor without the worry of my computer crashing. Yes, my current laptop is roughly 6 years old and keeps getting a white screen off and on, and so I’m backing up my writing every day, and crossing my fingers and toes and eyes that it will hold out long enough for me to get a new one.

And how, you might ask, does one struggling writer afford to buy said MacBook Air? I know, I know. Some people say Macs are too expensive, but seriously, given that mine has lasted me this long…I’d say it’s a worthwhile investment. And once you go Mac, you never go back (hey, they should make a commercial out of that!). I qualified (somehow, some way, with the blessings of the writing gods on my side) for 18 months no interest financing for my new BFF (hello, MacBook Air) and was approved for a $2,000 credit line, of which my MacBook totaled out to be $1,999.94? Okay, it was something miraculously close like that. Be impressed.

And coincidentally it will arrive on the first day of NaNoWriMo, the day I will embark on the journey to write an entire novel in one month. Not sayin’ this is going to be flawless, or even good. But it will be written, nonetheless, and if my luck so far is any indication of my writing abilities, then this is going to be one Hell of a novel (or one Heaven of a novel? Hm, just doesn’t sound as good does it?).

What am I going to write about? Well, I’ve given it some thought. I have an idea. But I also kind of like the spontaneity of “winging it”. So, tomorrow, new laptop at my desk, I will figure it out as I go. My inspiration? I’ve been reading a lot of Chuck Palahnuik and Aimee Bender, though my faves also cover Goldberry Long (the amazing, ultimately awesome, inspiring (okay okay, I have a major girl-crush))  and Wally Lamb.

Female heroine? Journey of some sort? Complications? Um, probably. Isn’t that almost a requirement of sorts? Although maybe I will branch out and write from a male’s POV. Or what about third person? I don’t know. I kind of don’t want to over-think it and just let the creative juices flow (a phrase that is disturbing and kind of gross, but I continue to use anyhoo).

Even though I’ve been battling a cough that feels like tuberculosis (no, I don’t actually know how it feels to have TB, but come on, I’m dramatic, remember?), and a head that is so congested it feels like it’s floating some ten feet above the rest of my body, I will take my kids trick-or-treating tonight, and then the rest of the week and weekend are all mine! Mwah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha…..

So if any of my family asks where I am, tell them I’m at Starbucks, but just don’t tell them which one, because when it’s time to hunker down (seriously, is that even a real word? Hunker?) and write an entire novel in one month, this writer needs some serious “mommy time”, as in…leave me alone! If even for just 5 minutes, pleeeeeasssse….

And thank you!

 

Leave a Reply

